Indirect tax: with change comes complexity [WEBCAST]

March 5, 2013

The continued importance of indirect taxes to governments around the world reinforces the need for global businesses to be informed and responsive. Trends indicate that:

  • VAT/GST rates are increasing
  • Excise duties are rising
  • The network of free trade agreements is widening

Indirect tax systems are becoming more efficient, but tax authorities are increasing their focus on compliance and enforcement for all indirect taxes. The implications and impact of these trends for businesses are significant:

  1. Higher tax rates will cause more severe consequences in the case of non-compliance and mistakes.
  2. Non recoverable indirect taxes will raise the costs of doing business, making production more expensive, thus requiring efficiency improvements to make up for the increased costs.
  3. International trade is opening and becoming more complex as companies do business in new markets; these developments bring opportunities but also the need for tighter compliance to obtain the benefits.

Join our discussion as we examine the trends, challenges and implications of the constantly changing VAT/GST rules and other indirect taxes around the world.

We are offering this webcast twice in 24 hours. Please register for the webcast that best suits your scheduling needs:

Date: Monday, 11 March 2013
Time: 5:00–6:00 a.m. New York; 9:00–10:00 a.m. London; 17:00–18:00 Beijing
Register

Date: Monday, 11 March 2013
Time: 9:00–10:00 a.m. Los Angeles; 12:00–1:00p.m. New York; 4:00–5:00 p.m. London; 24:00–1:00 Beijing
Register

Keep up to date as we share the significant trends identified in our annual survey, Indirect Tax in 2013.

EY refers to one or more of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited (EYG), a UK private company limited by guarantee. EYG is the principal governance entity of the global EY organization and does not provide any service to clients. Services are provided by EYG member firms. Each of EYG and its member firms is a separate legal entity and has no liability for another such entity's acts or omissions. Certain content on this site may have been prepared by one or more EYG member firms.