Mexico signs eight new tax treaties; accords with Lithuania, Ukraine effective 1 January 2013 [TAX ALERT]

March 8, 2013

During 2012, Mexico expanded its treaty network by signing eight new income tax treaties with Estonia, Hong Kong, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, and Ukraine.

The treaties with Lithuania and Ukraine came into force at the end of 2012 and both are effective as of 1 January 2013.

The tax treaties with Hong Kong and Latvia were ratified by Mexico in December 20122 while the treaties concluded with Estonia, Malta, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates are still pending ratification by the Mexican Senate.

Further details are available from the Ernst & Young Tax Alert which can be accessed using the link below:

Questions or comments? Contact T Magazine and Ernst & Young

EY refers to one or more of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited (EYG), a UK private company limited by guarantee. EYG is the principal governance entity of the global EY organization and does not provide any service to clients. Services are provided by EYG member firms. Each of EYG and its member firms is a separate legal entity and has no liability for another such entity's acts or omissions. Certain content on this site may have been prepared by one or more EYG member firms.